Skip to content
Shopping for Christmas gifts? Click here for our last order dates
Shopping for Christmas gifts? Click here for our last order dates

Wainwright's Walking Guides to the Lake District - The Central Fells - Book 3

£ 14.99

Revised by Clive Hutchby, this 'Walkers Edition' of Wainwright's guide to the Lake District covers the Central Fells (the fells accessible from Great Langdale, Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick and Borrowdale, including Harrison Stickle, Pike o’Stickle, Pavey Ark, Silver How Loughrigg Fell, Helm Crag and Walla Crag). This is book 3 in a series of 7.

It is now sixty years since Alfred Wainwright published the first of the seven volumes that make up his Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, detailing the 214 principal hills and mountains of the Lake District. Totalling more than 2,100 pages of meticulously hand-drawn and hand-lettered pages, the Pictorial Guides represent a "love letter" to a landscape that he had surveyed so definitively on foot and in ink.

These new Walker's Editions of Wainwright's Pictorial Guides are practical and detailed guidebooks for visitors to the Lakeland fells. Every path, map, diagram and route description has been checked and corrected.

These revisions have been undertaken by Wainwright expert Clive Hutchby, an international journalist and editor, and author of The Wainwright Companion.

Format: Paperback / softback, 256 Pages
ISBN: 9780711236561
Illustrations: Hand-drawn maps, diagrams and illustrations
Size: 4.331 in x 7.008 in / 110 mm x 178 mm
Edition: Revised Edition
Published: March 3, 2016